Reflection Week 4

Well, that was fun!  I think I have added my photos to the group.  I’ll double check that.  I got them on my blog, but I ended up with an extra “FLIKR  More Photos.”  Don’t know how to get rid of that.

Sorry I missed the Jerona meeting.  I was thinking it was next Friday.

Using FLIKR seems like a fairly easy way to put classroom photos on my blog. There are several steps, but it doesn’t seem that hard.  Todd, I really liked the video that showed your computer and exactly what you were doing to make things happen.  That kind of visual support really works for me, as I can go back to it as many times as I need to.

I’m looking forward to a change of pace next week, as we are doing two plays during the Reading Street review week.  My lowest two groups of readers will be performing The Brememtown Musicians (from the reading anthology), and the three upper groups will perform Stone Soup all happening next Friday.  We will also make Stone Soup in two crockpots and serve it to the parents after the play.

And, since I teach at an International Baccalaureate school, we are doing a project at the end of our social studies unit, which will be the homework for the next two weeks (in addition to nightly reading and the fluency reading).  Independent research projects are encouraged after every 6-week science or social studies unit.  This particular unit is called, “Where We Are in Place and Time.”

My students will be choosing a person who lived from the early 1800’s to the present, describing their life and saying what their contributions were.   They may be as creative as they want in presenting the information to the class.

2 thoughts on “Reflection Week 4

  1. I was thinking the same thing. The parents or grandparents who couldn’t attend could see some pictures or maybe even a video? Anyway, sounds like a fun week! I also found Todd’s video very clear and easy to follow.

Leave a Reply

