November 30,2014 – Reflection – Week 7

Hope everyone had an enjoyable Thanksgiving celebration.  I turned 60 on that day, and it was an exceptionally great celebration!

Christmas Lights

We had a technology PD a few weeks back on how to create portfolios for all of our students.  I think it is a great idea to get started in Kindergarten and send it up through the grades.  Right now at our International Baccalaureate School, we keep a physical portfolio–a 4 inch 3-ring binder that takes up a lot of shelf space as the summative assessment/project is added 6 times a year, along with the rubric.

I like the idea of going on an interview and having the interviewer access your resume from the computer.  My stepdaughter recently interviewed for a graphic arts job in LA and she gave her employer her web address so they could look at her portfolio that way.  She got the job!

My resume is added as a page, but I accidentally replaced my About Me page.  I’m not sure how to convert my Word document (resume) to a PDF file and get it on my blog.  When you click on my resume, it downloads and then you have to click on it in my download file.  I need some help with that.

I really liked what George Couros said about blogging in response to people saying, “What if no one reads it?”  I agree with him that if we take the time to blog, we are writing better, and taking time to reflect on our own learning.  If that is all that happened, that is enough.

What have I learned in these almost 7 weeks?  I learned that working with technology is just like everything else that’s new to a person.  It’s scarry and uncomfortable at first.  It takes a lot of time and practice.  Then a person gets more used to it.  As the weeks went by, I found myself very engaged with the whole process.  Hours would go by with me trying to figure things out or getting lost reading ed chat tweets.

I feel a bit more in the know about a few things in education.  It is a great way to attempt to keep up with what people are talking about.  I feel more empowered; at the same time I’m very much a beginner.

What I need to do now is go back over through the articles, videos, and make some good, clear notes on how to do all the things we learned.  During the class, I found myself just jumping in.  None of this comes easy for me.  I feel quite a sense of accomplishment when I do figure something out.

Last week I said I want to convert my current blog to a blog with the students I teach and their parents.  So as soon as this class is over, I shall start blogging to the parents, put classroom activity pictures on, and take it from there.

Oh, an update . . . my husband was able to convert my resume to a pdf file on his computer, so I put it on my blog, and you can click on it and open my resume.

A great big THANKS to Todd and Thatcher for all the learning, support, and most of all the encouragement!

3 thoughts on “November 30,2014 – Reflection – Week 7

  1. It is so true that even if no one reads what we write we are still reflecting and become better teachers and people. WE covered a lot and when my computer is cooperating I want to go back and review each area so I don’t forget how they work!

  2. Todd Conaway says:

    “I want to convert my current blog to a blog with the students I teach and their parents. So as soon as this class is over, I shall start blogging to the parents, put classroom activity pictures on, and take it from there.”

    I hope you keep us in the loop with the progress. I love that you have included the parents.

Leave a Reply

